Basil Pesto Awesomeness

23 Oct


20121023-185117.jpg

 I love basil.

I love it, like *flicks fringe* SO MUCH.   🙂 haha.

One of my favourite ways to eat it is as fresh pesto. It is great on hot fresh pasta, but also delicious served on its own as a dip. This is my recipe, cutely refereed to by my sister in law, Emma, as “Hey Pesto”. 🙂

Often if I have a large bunch of basil in the fridge that I haven’t got around to using, this is what I will do with it, so that it doesn’t go to waste.

What’s in it?

  • Basil (Heaps more than you think you will need. Handfuls and handfuls. Fill up the blender/processor, blend it up and then add more again.)
  • Olive oil (A good couple of generous glugs. More oil than you want to admit to your friends is in it when you serve it to them.)
  • Pine nuts (large handful) – I use cashews a lot of the time. They are cheaper, and taste just as good in this.
  • Parmasen cheese
  • Garlic, chopped  (one clove, although sometimes we use two, but we really like garlic.)
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste

Admittedly, rather than being able to give you specifics on the process, this is one I make from tasting it as I go. Bottom line though – Add all the ingredients into the processor, or blender (either work fine), and blend the bergebers out of them. Taste and add more of various ingredients until you like what you taste. I know when I have it right because I go from making my thinking face, to it making me smile and nod my head. You just know. It will be more basil, more parmesan and more oil than you are expecting. Go easy on the oil at first and add it in as needed. If “something” is missing, but you are just not sure, give the salt and pepper a go.

This night I cheated and used store bought packet spaghetti (shock horror, I know!) But it was still delicious. 🙂 Leave a little (very little) bit of the  starchy “pasta water” in with the pasta when you stir in the pesto. This will make it creamy.

20121023-185126.jpg

A Seasonal Note: In Australia basil is in season in Spring and Summer. Just a little something for us all to keep in mind. 😉

3 Responses to “Basil Pesto Awesomeness”

  1. Kerri October 23, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    If it is store bought basil, use the top and plant the bottom stem in soil, same as rosemary it should regrow. You can’t have too much basil.

  2. smeema October 23, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Awesome tip, mum! I forgot that one. Thanks! 🙂

    Do you mean, if it is store bought, with roots still attached…?

  3. Kerri Ballantyne October 24, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    My shops don’t sell basil with roots, way too classy. As long as the stalk is reasonably thick should be ok.Leave a leaf to make it feel basilish. (It’s a real word!). Can put it in water, pottery works well as it blocks the light, and it may grow roots.

Leave a Reply

