Brownies you would sell your first born for

7 Oct

Double choc brownies by sam.jpg

My husband came across this recipe at a site cutely named “cook like your grandmother”. I suppose I judged a book by its cover at that point, and we gave it a go. I have been making it for years now, and has become one of my most requested baked goods.

It is seriously rich, you only need a small piece. You may eat 4 of those small pieces, and no one is judging, you have been warned. ūüôā

What’s in it?

  • 1¬Ĺ cups Caster Sugar
  • ¬ĺ cup Plain Flour
  • ¬ĺ cup Cocoa Powder (the best quality you can get your hands on)
  • 3 free range eggs
  • ¬ĺ cup butter, melted
  • ¬ĺ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (the best quality you can get your hands on)

Stir everything, except the choc chips, together in a bowl until they are JUST COMBINED. Add the choc chips and stir in. Pour/scrape into a square tin, lined with baking paper. Use a spatula, or a spoon, to spread the mixture out evenly. Bake at 160 degrees for 20-30mins. The website gives the great advice that when checking to see if it is cooked through (with a skewer), remember that the choc chips will stay wet.

A note, but not a lecture: When buying the choc chips and the cocoa powder, I strictly avoid the Nestl√© brand. I initially came across the international boycott of this brand at my first University. They had a campus wide ban, and I was cranky because I couldn’t buy a certain chocolate bar I liked. It was an effective way of getting the message out there, and it certainly changed my view of things.
There is plenty of information about this boycott on the internet, and I’ll allow you to do your own research. 2 minutes of Googling and you’ll know enough to inform your choice.

5 Responses to “Brownies you would sell your first born for”

  1. Samantha Watterson April 11, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    Wow, these brownies are amazing!! I found it a little hard to tell when it was cooked through but it still tastes pretty darn good ūüėÄ

  2. smeema January 30, 2014 at 11:35 am #

    I leave them a bit wet throughout anyway. They are great if left slightly undercooked, and then eaten on the following day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sam’s Double Choc Raspberry Brownie Cups « Sam in the Kitchen - November 4, 2012

    […] I use, however, in this case I substitute the plain flour with self raising flour. (You can make the normal recipe, if you want more of a “cupcake” rounded look. They still taste great.) If you DO […]

  2. Sam (returns to) the kitchen! Hazzzah! | Sam in the Kitchen - January 30, 2014

    […] made¬†some quite tasty handmade pasta for dinner, a few lemon meringue¬†pies, several batches of¬†delicious brownies, ¬†and one VERY¬†disastrous gingerbread house. Hopefully I’ll be uploading new¬†adventures […]

  3. Mint Slice & Choc Oreo Brownie Ice Cream Cake | Sam in the Kitchen - April 2, 2014

    […] batch of my usual brownies recipe, leaving out the choc […]

Leave a Reply

